Bird perched on a Raptor (RV that is!)
Bird perched on a Raptor (RV that is!)

For several days I was amazed to see birds hit the windows of a nearby RV toy hauler. It wasn’t just one bird (or species for that matter) and no birds appeared harmed by it. They would simply fly up to the slide windows and somehow appear to cling to the glass for several seconds. Then the birds would fly off to a nearby tree or land on the top of the slide. It was rather curious behavior and no one seemed to know what was going on.

Imagine my surprise when yesterday morning a heard tapping on my bedroom slide. Before I could get the window shade up I heard tapping on the sofa slide! Yet again, before I could get the shade up, it stopped. At this point the sound moved to the living room slide and all of us were wondering what was going on.

One of the window bandits watches from a nearby tree!

One of the window bandits watches from a nearby tree!

Fortunately we managed to see what was going on – the birds were hitting our slide windows! And they began repeating the pattern, returning to my bedroom slide and continuing to the other slide windows. This continued for about thirty minutes.

By seeing the birds  from the inside, I could see they were actually hovering very close to the glass and actually tapping it with their bills or claws. The reason they were hitting the glass was to catch insects!

I’m not sure why it was just the slide windows, unless they were trapping the insect swarms in the slide corners. It was hard to tell. Whatever the case, the birds certainly knew what they were doing!

 

